The National Cyber Security Centre

The National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) is the Confederation's competence centre for cybersecurity and thus the first contact point for businesses, public administrations, educational institutions and the general public for cyberissues. It is also responsible for the coordinated implementation of the 2018-2022 national strategy for the protection of Switzerland against cyber-risks (NCS).

Cybersecurity has grown hugely in importance at all levels in recent years. It plays a key role in national and international foreign and security policy, and is increasingly becoming an important factor for the general public and Switzerland as a business location. By creating the NCSC, headed by the Federal Cyber Security Delegate, the Federal Council aims to support the population, businesses, educational institutions and public administrations in protecting against cyber-risks, as well as to improve the security of its own systems.

The Ordinance on Protecting against Cyber-Risks in the Federal Administration (CyRO) adopted by the Federal Council entered into force on 1 July 2020. It provides the legal basis for the creation and expansion of the NCSC, and regulates the structure, tasks and responsibilities of the authorities involved. 

 

NCSC Organisation

organisation_ncsc_de

The Reporting and Analysis Centre for Information Assurance (MELANI), together with the national Computer Emergency Response Team (GovCERT), is being integrated into the NCSC as a technical expertise hub and will be expanded further.
The newly created national contact point receives cyberincident reports, analyses them and provides those submitting reports with an assessment of the incident, as well as recommendations on how they should proceed.
Within the Federal Administration and after consulting the services concerned, the NCSC can take the lead when dealing with a cyberincident if it jeopardises the proper functioning of the Federal Administration. It maintains a pool of experts to support the specialist units in developing and implementing cybersecurity standards. Moreover, as the federal ICT security specialist unit, the NCSC issues cybersecurity specifications within the Federal Administration, checks compliance with them and helps service providers to eliminate vulnerabilities.

The organisational development of the National Cyber Security Centre must accommodate the demands for greater centralisation, while at the same time using existing skills and know-how wherever possible. The following three measures are designed to meet these demands.

  1. The office and the national contact point should be accorded sufficient importance to allow the National Cyber Security Centre to become fully effective and be taken seriously as the central point of contact via active communication and a well-developed service offering for businesses and the general public.
  2. In particular, the pool of experts should be available to the specialist offices in the various sectors, thereby ensuring that sector-specific know-how and legal powers can be supplemented with specialist knowledge in cyber matters, as necessary and on a project-specific basis.
  3. Finally, the National Cyber Security Centre should work closely with units in which specialist knowledge and capacity for specific cybersecurity tasks is available. This cooperation should prevent the duplication of skills that already exist elsewhere, but it should also ensure that the units involved coordinate their activities and work closely with the Centre.

Other Federal Council decisions on strengthening cybersecurity activities

  • The Ordinance on Protecting against Cyber-Risks in the Federal Administration (CyRO) entered into force on 1 July 2020. The existing Reporting and Analysis Centre for Information Assurance (MELANI), Federal ICT Security and GovCERT.ch are now part of the NCSC organisation.
  • On 27 May 2020, the Federal Council adopted the Ordinance on Protecting against Cyber-Risks in the Federal Administration (CyRO). Moreover, the Federal Council decided to allocate 20 new posts to increase staffing for the implementation of the 2020-2022 national strategy for the protection of Switzerland against cyber-risks (NCS):  https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home/dokumentation/nsb-news_list.msg-id-79275.html
 

Specialist staff
Last modification 06.07.2020

Top of page

https://www.melani.admin.ch/content/melani/en/home/ueber_ncsc/das_ncsc.html

Le Centre national pour la cybersécurité

Le NCSC est le centre de compétences de la Confédération en matière de cybersécurité et le premier interlocuteur pour les milieux économiques, l’administration, les établissements d’enseignement et la population pour toute question relative à la cybersécurité. Il est également responsable pour la mise en œuvre coordonnée de la stratégie nationale de protection de la Suisse contre les cyberrisques (SNPC) 2018-2022.

Ces dernières années, la cybersécurité a pris de l’importance à tous les niveaux. Elle joue un rôle central dans la politique extérieure et de sécurité tant à l’échelle nationale qu’internationale et constitue un facteur de plus en plus important pour la place économique et la population suisse. En créant le NCSC, sous la direction du délégué de la Confédération à la cybersécurité, le Conseil fédéral souhaite aider la population, les milieux économiques, les établissements d’enseignement et l’administration à se protéger contre les cyberrisques et améliorer la sécurité de ses propres systèmes.

L’ordonnance sur les cyberrisques adoptée par le Conseil fédéral est en vigueur depuis le 1er juillet 2020. Elle constitue la base juridique pour la création et le développement du NCSC et réglemente la structure, les tâches et les compétences des autorités impliquées. 

 
 

Organisation du NCSC

organisation_ncsc_de

La Centrale d’enregistrement et d’analyse pour la sûreté de l’information (MELANI) est intégrée au NCSC avec l’équipe d’intervention en cas d’urgence informatique (GovCERT) en tant que service spécialisé, et ses capacités seront étendues.
Le tout nouveau guichet unique suisse centralise les notifications concernant les cyberincidents, il les examine et donne aux personnes ou aux services à l’origine du signalement une évaluation de l’incident concerné ainsi que des recommandations pour la suite de la procédure.
En concertation avec les services concernés de l’administration fédérale, le NCSC peut prendre la haute main sur la gestion des cyberincidents présentant une menace pour le bon fonctionnement de l’administration fédérale. Il met à la disposition des offices spécialisés un pool d’experts chargé de les assister dans le développement et la mise en œuvre des normes en matière de cybersécurité. En outre, en tant que service spécialisé dans le domaine de la sécurité informatique de la Confédération, il édicte des directives sur la cybersécurité dans l’administration fédérale, vérifie qu’elles sont respectées et aide les fournisseurs de prestations à remédier aux failles détectées.

Le développement de l’organisation du Centre national pour la cybersécurité doit également tenir compte des exigences d’une centralisation accrue, tout en s’appuyant sur les compétences et les capacités existantes lorsque cela est possible. Les trois mesures suivantes visent à répondre à ces exigences:

  1. Au sein du Centre national pour la cybersécurité, il faut donner suffisamment de poids au bureau et au guichet national pour que le centre national pour la cybersécurité produise, par une communication active et des prestations étendues pour les entreprises et la population, un maximum d’effets à l’extérieur et soit réellement perçu comme le guichet unique.
  2. Le pool d’experts se tiendra à la disposition des offices spécialisés des différents secteurs, notamment, et son expertise en matière de cybersécurité viendra compléter les connaissances sectorielles et les compétences juridiques en fonction des besoins et des projets.
  3. Enfin, le centre national pour la cybersécurité doit travailler en étroite collaboration avec les services disposant de l’expertise et des capacités nécessaires pour réaliser certaines tâches dans le domaine de la cybersécurité. Dans le cadre de cette collaboration, on évitera de créer des redondances entre les compétences du centre national pour la cybersécurité et celles des autres services, tout en veillant à ce que les services impliqués réalisent leurs tâches de façon coordonnée et en concertation étroite avec le Centre national pour la cybersécurité.

Autres décisions du Conseil fédéral visant à renforcer les activités en matière de cyber-sécurité

  • L’ordonnance sur les cyberrisques entre en vigueur le 1er juillet 2020. La Centrale d’enregistrement et d’analyse pour la sûreté de l’information (MELANI), le service Sécurité informatique de la Confédération et GovCERT sont intégrés au NCSC à partir de cette même date: https://www.newsd.admin.ch/newsd/message/attachments/61510.pdf
  • Le 15 mai 2019, le Conseil fédéral a adopté le plan de mise en œuvre de la stratégie nationale de protection de la Suisse contre les cyberrisques (SNPC) pour 2018-2022 et pris ainsi des décisions supplémentaires concernant la mise en place du centre de compétences pour la cybersécurité. Il a également décidé de renforcer les ressources en personnel dans le domaine des cyberrisques en créant 24 nouveaux postes.
    Informations supplémentaires: Plan de mise en œuvre de la SNPC
    Communiqué de presse: Nouvelle étape dans la mise en place du Centre de compétences pour la cybersécurité
 
 

Contact spécialisé
Dernière modification 30.06.2020

Début de la page

https://www.melani.admin.ch/content/melani/fr/home/ueber_ncsc/das_ncsc.html