Campaigns in the Federal Administration

The campaign "Security is in your hand" is aimed at employees of the Federal Administration. Of course, a lot of information and tips also apply to users outside the Federal Administration. 

Security is in your hands


Virtually all areas of life today are marked by computer science. This makes many activities easier for us, but it also harbours dangers. With your correct behaviour you make an important contribution to the security of data and infrastructure. Astronaut "Cybie" and his Trabant "Digi", the stars of the new awareness campaign for IT security in the Federal Administration, will give you helpful tips.

 

Where?

Main thing saved? Only if you also retrieve your data again.

Do you know how and where to store your business data so that it is always secure, complete and available to others? All business-related information is classified and stored in an orderly manner by the Confederation according to its need for protection. This creates a clearly structured data storage system that allows authorised employees to access and edit files. It is important that you assign other employees the correct authorisations needed to access your data.

When handling business-related information, all those involved must adhere to the following rules:

  1. Classify and handle your information correctly.
  2. Save business-related information only in the specified locations.
  3. Do not store any business-related information on private data carriers.
  4. Assign the correct authorisations needed to access your data (e.g. in the case of prolonged absences).

Classifying information

The following classification levels apply:

  • No classification
  • "INTERNAL" classification level
  • "CONFIDENTIAL" classification level 
  • "SECRET" classification level

Deleting data permanently

If information is no longer required, it must be properly deleted or destroyed. Before destroying any information, always clarify whether it has to be transferred to the Federal Archives.

The correct way to dispose of classified documents in hard copy is to shred them. The Federal Administration provides document shredders for this purpose.

Electronic data is still readable after it has been deleted with the Delete key or the "delete" function (only information on the storage location is removed). For this reason, the storage location on external data carriers must be overwritten several times in order to permanently destroy the data. The SecureCenter program can be used for this process, which is also known as wiping.

Using external data carriers securely

Data on external data carries (e.g. flash drives, CDs, DVDs, external hard disks) and mobile devices is exposed to particular risks. This information is poorly protected against theft, loss and destruction.

Whenever possible, do not use local storage for official information; instead use the data storage systems on the federal servers.

However, it may sometimes be necessary to temporarily store files on an external storage system if they cannot be stored on a federal server. Use only federal data carriers for this purpose. In principle, you are personally responsible for any data on external storage devices.

Set up access protection for external data carriers (e.g. Windows BitLocker To Go). Keep them safe and do not lend them to others.

Even data stored in a cloud is not as well protected as data stored on federal server drives. The cloud operator can usually see the stored data. The data can be lost in the event of a technical problem or if the operator goes bankrupt. Remember that your cloud data is in the hands of others and, in the worst case, can be misused or lost.

Please observe the following rules:

Delete data on USB storage devices correctly

Whenever possible, do not connect any external data carriers to your system. However, if this is absolutely necessary, hold down the shift key the first time you use it (this disables the auto start function and no programs are launched) and use the right mouse button in the options menu to start formatting. This will erase all data on the storage device. Wipe external data carriers before destroying them.


Encrypt cloud data

If you use the cloud services of a commercial provider, we recommend that you use providers that encrypt the data BEFORE storing it in the cloud. This gives you additional protection against unauthorised access to your data. If the key is changed, re-encryption of this data must not be forgotten.


Delete the memor Encrypt cloud dat
a

Smartphones and tablets are also external data carriers. If data on a mobile device is to be removed or the device is to be disposed of or passed on, make sure that the information stored on the device has definitely been permanently deleted. To erase the data on smartphones, you must use the reset function and any existing memory card must be reformatted.

Acting correctly:

 
 

Last modification 17.08.2021

Top of page

Campagnes dans l'administration fédérale

La campagne «La sécurité est en vos mains» s'adresse aux collaborateurs de l'administration fédérale. Bien entendu, de nombreuses informations et conseils s'appliquent également aux utilisateurs en dehors de l'administration fédérale. 

La sécurité est entre vos mains


L‘informatique est omniprésente. Elle nous facilite la vie aussi bien au travail qu‘en dehors, mais cela comporte aussi des dangers. Avec votre comportement correct, vous apportez une contribution importante à la sécurité des données et de l'infrastructure. L'astronaute «Cybie» et son compagnon «Digi», les héros de la nouvelle campagne de sensibilisation à la sécurité informatique dans l'administration fédérale, vous donneront des conseils utiles.

Où ?

L’essentiel c’est d’avoir sauvegardé vos données? Encore faut-il les retrouver.

Savez-vous où et comment stocker vos données professionnelles afin qu’elles soient en sécurité, complètes et accessibles à d’autres personnes? À la Confédération, toutes les informations professionnelles sont classées et sauvegardées par degré de confidentialité. Il en résulte un système de stockage des données clairement structuré, qui permet aux employés autorisés d’accéder aux fichiers et de les modifier. Il importe que vous donniez à d’autres employés les autorisations requises pour l’accès à vos données.

Lorsqu’il s’agit de traiter des données professionnelles, toutes les personnes concernées doivent se tenir aux règles suivantes:

  1. Classifier et traiter correctement les informations.
  2. Enregistrer les informations professionnelles uniquement aux endroits prévus à cet effet.
  3. Ne jamais enregistrer des données professionnelles sur un support de données personnel.
  4. Établir correctement les autorisations requises pour l’accès à ses données (par ex. en cas d’absence prolongée).

Classification des informations

Les échelons de classification suivants sont applicables:

  • Aucune classification
  • INTERNE
  • CONFIDENTIEL 
  • SECRET

Supprimer définitivement les données

Si l’information n’est plus nécessaire, elle doit être effacée ou détruite de manière appropriée. Avant de détruire une information, vérifiez toujours si elle doit être transmise aux Archives fédérales.

Le déchiquetage est la solution appropriée pour éliminer les documents classifiés sous forme papier. À cet effet, l’administration fédérale met à disposition des destructeurs de documents.

 Les données électroniques restent lisibles même après avoir été effacées à l’aide de la touche «effacer» ou de la fonction «supprimer» (seules les informations sur le lieu de stockage sont supprimées). Par conséquent, l’emplacement de stockage sur les supports de données externes doit être écrasé plusieurs fois pour la destruction définitive des données. Le logiciel SecureCenter permet de procéder à cette opération.

Utilisation sûre des supports de données externes

Les données enregistrées sur des supports externes, tels que clés USB, CD-ROM, DVD, disques durs externes, ou sur des appareils mobiles, sont exposées à des dangers particuliers. Elles sont mal protégées contre le vol, la perte ou la destruction.

Évitez, dans toute la mesure du possible, de sauvegarder localement les données professionnelles et utilisez de préférence les possibilités de stockage sur les serveurs de la Confédération.

Cependant, il peut parfois être nécessaire d’entreposer temporairement sur un support externe des fichiers qui ne peuvent pas être stockés sur le serveur. À ces fins, utilisez uniquement des supports de données de la Confédération. De manière générale, vous êtes responsable des données que vous enregistrez sur des supports externes.

Mettez en place un dispositif de protection pour les supports de données externes (par ex. Windows BitLocker to go). Conservez ces derniers dans un endroit sûr et ne les prêtez pas.

Les données sauvegardées dans un nuage ne sont pas aussi bien protégées que quand elles sont stockées sur les serveurs de la Confédération. En règle générale, elles sont susceptibles d’être lues par l’exploitant du nuage. Par ailleurs, elles peuvent être perdues en cas de problème technique ou lorsque l’exploitant fait faillite. N’oubliez pas que les données sauvegardées dans un nuage sont aux mains de tiers et pourraient, dans le pire des cas, être utilisées de manière abusive ou être perdues.

Respectez les règles suivantes:

Effacer correctement les dates stockées sur une clé USB

Dans la mesure du possible, vous ne devriez pas relier un support de données externe à votre poste de travail. En cas d’absolue nécessité, vous devez alors garder la touche «Majuscule» enfoncée lorsque vous utilisez le support pour la première fois (ce qui permet d’arrêter la fonction d’exécution automatique et de bloquer le lancement de programmes) et lancer le formatage au moyen du bouton droit de la souris. Ce faisant, vous supprimerez toute donnée encore enregistrée sur le support. Avant de détruire un support de données externe, écrasez son contenu.

Chiffrer les données sauvegardées dans un nuage

Si vous utilisez des services en nuage fournis par des prestataires commerciaux, nous vous recommandons de faire appel à un prestataire qui chiffre les données AVANT de les déposer sur la plateforme concernée. Vous obtiendrez ainsi une protection supplémentaire contre les accès non autorisés. Lorsque vous changez de clé de chiffrement, n’oubliez pas de chiffrer ces données à nouveau.

Effacer les données enregistrées sur les appareils mobiles

Les tablettes et les smartphones font aussi partie des supports de données externes. Si les données sur les appareils mobiles doivent être supprimées ou si l’appareil est éliminé ou transmis, il faut s’assurer que les informations stockées sur l’appareil sont bien effacées de façon permanente. Pour supprimer des données sur les smartphones, vous devez exécuter la fonction de réinitialisation et – si possible – reformater la carte mémoire.

Votre comportement correct est important:

 
 

Dernière modification 19.12.2020

Début de la page