Campaigns in the Federal Administration

The campaign "Security is in your hand" is aimed at employees of the Federal Administration. Of course, a lot of information and tips also apply to users outside the Federal Administration. 

Security is in your hands


Virtually all areas of life today are marked by computer science. This makes many activities easier for us, but it also harbours dangers. With your correct behaviour you make an important contribution to the security of data and infrastructure. Astronaut "Cybie" and his Trabant "Digi", the stars of the new awareness campaign for IT security in the Federal Administration, will give you helpful tips.

 

Where?

Main thing saved? Only if you also retrieve your data again.

Do you know how and where to store your business data so that it is always secure, complete and available to others? All business-related information is classified and stored in an orderly manner by the Confederation according to its need for protection. This creates a clearly structured data storage system that allows authorised employees to access and edit files. It is important that you assign other employees the correct authorisations needed to access your data.

When handling business-related information, all those involved must adhere to the following rules:

  1. Classify and handle your information correctly.
  2. Save business-related information only in the specified locations.
  3. Do not store any business-related information on private data carriers.
  4. Assign the correct authorisations needed to access your data (e.g. in the case of prolonged absences).

Classifying information

The following classification levels apply:

  • No classification
  • "INTERNAL" classification level
  • "CONFIDENTIAL" classification level 
  • "SECRET" classification level

Deleting data permanently

If information is no longer required, it must be properly deleted or destroyed. Before destroying any information, always clarify whether it has to be transferred to the Federal Archives.

The correct way to dispose of classified documents in hard copy is to shred them. The Federal Administration provides document shredders for this purpose.

Electronic data is still readable after it has been deleted with the Delete key or the "delete" function (only information on the storage location is removed). For this reason, the storage location on external data carriers must be overwritten several times in order to permanently destroy the data. The SecureCenter program can be used for this process, which is also known as wiping.

Using external data carriers securely

Data on external data carries (e.g. flash drives, CDs, DVDs, external hard disks) and mobile devices is exposed to particular risks. This information is poorly protected against theft, loss and destruction.

Whenever possible, do not use local storage for official information; instead use the data storage systems on the federal servers.

However, it may sometimes be necessary to temporarily store files on an external storage system if they cannot be stored on a federal server. Use only federal data carriers for this purpose. In principle, you are personally responsible for any data on external storage devices.

Set up access protection for external data carriers (e.g. Windows BitLocker To Go). Keep them safe and do not lend them to others.

Even data stored in a cloud is not as well protected as data stored on federal server drives. The cloud operator can usually see the stored data. The data can be lost in the event of a technical problem or if the operator goes bankrupt. Remember that your cloud data is in the hands of others and, in the worst case, can be misused or lost.

Please observe the following rules:

Delete data on USB storage devices correctly

Whenever possible, do not connect any external data carriers to your system. However, if this is absolutely necessary, hold down the shift key the first time you use it (this disables the auto start function and no programs are launched) and use the right mouse button in the options menu to start formatting. This will erase all data on the storage device. Wipe external data carriers before destroying them.


Encrypt cloud data

If you use the cloud services of a commercial provider, we recommend that you use providers that encrypt the data BEFORE storing it in the cloud. This gives you additional protection against unauthorised access to your data. If the key is changed, re-encryption of this data must not be forgotten.


Delete the memor Encrypt cloud dat
a

Smartphones and tablets are also external data carriers. If data on a mobile device is to be removed or the device is to be disposed of or passed on, make sure that the information stored on the device has definitely been permanently deleted. To erase the data on smartphones, you must use the reset function and any existing memory card must be reformatted.

Acting correctly:

 
 

Last modification 17.08.2021

Top of page

Bundesinterne Kampagnen

Die Kampagne «Sicherheit liegt in Ihren Händen!» richtet sich an die Mitarbeitenden der Bundesverwaltung. Viele Information und Hinweise gelten jedoch auch für Anwenderinnen und Anwender außerhalb der Bundesverwaltung.

Sicherheit liegt in Ihren Händen!


Praktisch alle Lebensbereiche sind heute von Informatik geprägt. Dies erleichtert uns viele Tätigkeiten, birgt aber auch Gefahren. Mit Ihrem korrekten Verhalten leisten Sie einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Sicherheit von Daten und Infrastruktur. Astronaut «Cybie» und sein Trabant «Digi», die Stars der neuen Sensibilisierungskampagne für die Informatiksicherheit in der Bundesverwaltung, geben Ihnen hilfreiche Tipps dazu. 

Wo?

Hauptsache gespeichert? Nur, wenn Sie Ihre Daten auch wiederfinden.

Wissen Sie, wie und wo Sie Ihre dienstlichen Daten speichern müssen, damit diese jederzeit sicher, vollständig und für andere verfügbar sind? Sämtliche dienstlichen Informationen werden beim Bund entsprechend ihrer Schutzwürdigkeit klassifiziert und geordnet aufbewahrt. So entsteht eine klar strukturierte Datenablage, die es ermöglicht, dass die berechtigten Mitarbeitenden auf die Dateien zugreifen und diese bearbeiten können. Wichtig dabei ist, dass Sie anderen Mitarbeitenden die notwendigen und korrekten Berechtigungen für den Zugriff auf Ihre Daten geben.

Im Umgang mit dienstlichen Informationen müssen sich alle Beteiligten an die folgenden Regeln halten:

  1. Klassifizieren und behandeln Sie Ihre Informationen richtig.
  2. Speichern Sie dienstliche Informationen nur an den vorgegebenen Speicherorten.
  3. Speichern Sie keine dienstlichen Informationen auf privaten Datenträgern.
  4. Vergeben Sie die nötigen, korrekten Berechtigungen für den Zugriff auf Ihre Daten (z. B. bei längeren Abwesenheiten).

Klassifizierung von Informationen

Es gelten folgende Klassifizierungsstufen:

  • Keine Klassifikation
  • Klassifikationsstufe «INTERN»
  • Klassifikationsstufe «VERTRAULICH» 
  • Klassifikationsstufe «GEHEIM»

Daten endgültig löschen

Werden Informationen nicht mehr benötigt, müssen sie fachgerecht gelöscht oder vernichtet werden. 

Klassifizierte Dokumente in Papierform entsorgen Sie korrekt, indem Sie diese schreddern. In der Bundesverwaltung stehen dazu entsprechende Aktenvernichter zur Verfügung.

Elektronische Daten bleiben auch nach dem Löschen mit der Delete-Taste oder der Funktion «löschen» lesbar (es werden nur die Informationen zum Speicherort entfernt). Deshalb muss auf externen Datenträgern der Speicherort für die endgültige Vernichtung der Daten mehrfach überschrieben werden. 

Sicherer Umgang mit externen Datenträgern

Daten auf externen Datenträgern (z. B. USB-Sticks, CDs, DVDs, externe Festplatten) oder auf mobilen Geräten sind besonderen Gefahren ausgesetzt. Diese Informationen sind vor Diebstahl, Verlust oder Zerstörung schlecht geschützt.

Verwenden Sie nach Möglichkeit keine lokalen Speicher für dienstliche Informationen, sondern die Datenablagen auf den Servern des Bundes.

Trotzdem kann es manchmal notwendig sein, Dateien, die nicht auf einem dienstlichen Serverlaufwerk gespeichert werden können, temporär auf einem externen Speicher abzulegen. Grundsätzlich sind Sie selbst für die Daten auf externen Speichern verantwortlich.

Richten Sie für externe Datenträger einen Zugriffsschutz ein (z. B. Windows BitLocker to go). Bewahren Sie diese sicher auf und leihen Sie diese nicht aus.

Auch Daten, die in einer Cloud gespeichert werden, sind nicht gleich gut geschützt wie auf den Serverlaufwerken des Bundes. Der Cloud-Betreiber kann die gespeicherten Daten in der Regel einsehen. Bei technischen Problem oder wenn der Betreiber Konkurs geht, können die Daten verloren gehen. Denken Sie daran: Ihre Cloud-Daten sind in fremden Händen und können im schlimmsten Fall missbraucht werden oder verloren gehen.

Beachten Sie folgende Regeln:

Daten auf USB-Speicher korrekt löschen

Stecken Sie wenn immer möglich keine fremden Datenträger an Ihr System an. Wenn dies jedoch unbedingt notwendig ist, halten Sie bei der ersten Verwendung die Shift-Taste gedrückt (damit wird die Autostart-Funktion ausgeschaltet und keine Programme ausgeführt) und starten Sie mit der rechten Maustaste im Auswahlmenü die Formatierung. Damit werden sämtliche Daten, die sich auf dem Speicher befinden, gelöscht. Wipen Sie externe Datenträger, bevor Sie diese vernichten.

Cloud-Daten verschlüsseln

Wenn Sie die Cloud-Dienste eines kommerziellen Anbieters nutzen, empfehlen wir Ihnen Anbieter, welche die Daten VOR dem Deponieren in der Cloud verschlüsseln. So haben Sie einen zusätzlichen Schutz vor unbefugtem Einblick in Ihre Daten. Bei Schlüssel-Wechsel, muss die Umschlüsselung dieser Daten nicht vergessen werden.

Speicher auf mobilen Geräten löschen

Zu externen Datenträgern gehören auch Smartphones oder Tablets. Falls Daten auf mobilen Geräten entfernt werden sollen oder das Gerät entsorgt oder weitergegeben wird: Sorgen Sie dafür, dass die darauf gespeicherten Informationen tatsächlich endgültig gelöscht sind. Für die Datenlöschung auf Smartphones müssen Sie die Reset-Funktion ausführen und – falls vorhanden – die Speicherkarte neu formatieren.

So verhalten Sie sich richtig:

 

Letzte Änderung 17.08.2021

Zum Seitenanfang